Whitehaven West Lighthouse
The outer walls of Whitehaven Harbour were constructed in 1839, built from local stone and were first marked by a temporary lighthouse in 1832, before having been completed.
The port which Daniel Defoe wrote was at the time "the most eminent port in England for shipping off of coals, except Newcastle and Sunderland and even beyond the last." became most successful from this export, but since local mining ended in 1986, and any ore or rock having not been transported by sea from here since 1992, the harbour was regenerated in time for the new millenium and was turned into a marina for pleasure craft and yachts.
The iconic Lighthouse on Whitehaven's West Pier, which stands as one of the most well known landmarks of the town, was built in 1841 to mark the new lengths of harbour wall. The white tower with red trim is Built into the breakwater which has two levels, joined by cases of 17 steps.
The towers is 14 metres high in total, but the full height of the tower can not be seen from the sea, because of the breakwater's wall is several metres taller on the seaward side.
The flashing green light, housed within a glased lantern, shows once every 5 seconds and is visible for 8 nautical miles. From this location you can see at least 3 other lighthouses, including the other towers within the harbour and the Trinity House Lighthouse at St. Bees Head, just south, which unsuprisingly, as a result of the area's strong connection with the coal industry, was the last coal powered lighthouse in England.