Berkeley Pill Low Lighthouse
The current Low Light at Berkeley Pill, which is one of a pair marking a tributary to the River Severn, known as the Little Avon, was built in 1937 to replace an earlier wooden mast light which dated back to 1906. The tower is of a standard design, only used for lights on the River Severn.
The 8 Metre High tower is painted black with a circular 3 windowed lantern, surrounded by a gallery and is like a shortened version of the high light, which is a very similar but taller design.
In 1996, an almost identical tower, situated just down the river, at sheperdine was demolished and replaced by a modern tower, but its lantern was saved, restored and later transferred to the low light at Berkeley Pill in 2008, resulting in the light being extinguished between September 9th and 11th. The original lantern was removed and restored - it was later placed on the top of the Higher Light.
The light was at first a flashing white light, but mariners complained that this was difficuilt to see, against the light-polluted sky, so it was later changed to a fixed green light, which is in place today. The light is shown from the 3 windows of the lantern, made up by several rows of florescent green tubes, powered by mains electricity.
The range Lights at Berkeley are the only intact and fully functional examples of this unique design of River Severn Lighthouse.