Berkeley Pill High Lighthouse
The Current Steel Lattice towers that form the range Lights at Berkeley Pill were built in 1937 replace earlier wooden masts, which marked a small contributry to the River Severn, known as the Little Avon.
The High Lighthouse is a 12 metre high square black painted tower with a circular 3 windowed white lantern, topped by a conical roof. The front of the tower holds a white daymark, made up of 9 vertical slats of white painted wood - this appears like a solid band of white from a distance.
This was once the standard design for all Lighthouses on the River Severn.
In 1996, a Lighthouse almost identical to the shorter Low Lighthouse, only a few miles down the river, at sheperdine was demolished and replaced by a modern tower, but its lantern was saved, restored and later transferred to the low light at Berkeley Pill in 2008, resulting in the light being extinguished between September 9th and 11th.
In 2010, the Low Lighthouse's old lantern was installed at the top the High Lighthouse, after also having been restored.
The lighthouses originally shone flashing white lights and were powered by gas, which was converted to battery power in 1951 and then mains electricity in 1964, shortly after the nearby Berkeley nuclear power station was opened in 1962.
Both lights now show an electric fixed green light through the 3 windows in the front of the lantern; produced by an unusual vertical array of green fluorescent tubes.
These two Lights are the only intact and still functioning pair, and are well preserved examples of 1930's style River Severn Lighthouses, which are unique to this design.